SGI OUNA, The online Youth Assembly took place on 2 May, attended by over 300 participants.

Online World Conference 2020 Youth Assembly

In Peace and Disarmament by SGI OUNA

The online Youth Assembly took place on 2 May, attended by over 370 participants. The event was initially scheduled for 24 April as part of the World Conference 2020, right before the Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT), but it was transformed into an online meeting due to the COVID-19 outbreak. Aimed to generate interactions among the youth, the event made connections between nuclear weapons, the climate crisis, and racial and economic justice, with a specific focus on how to build movements in the era of COVID-19 and beyond. Young panelists from the various issue areas discussed how to break the silos of different social movements and engage young people in activism.

SGI was among the planning committee members for the Youth Assembly, along with other organizations including the International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, Peace Action New York State, PEAC Institute, Amplify, Nuclear Age Peace Foundation, and Beyond the Bomb. 

As a follow-up to the Youth Assembly, Regional Breakout Sessions will take place on Saturday, May 16th at 9am EDT, 1:00pm GMT, 10:00pm JST. The Breakout Sessions will bring together young participants to discuss the next steps in planning for a more equitable and safe future, so that each participant would leave with concrete plans to work toward a unified movement in advocating for a world free from nuclear weapons, the climate crisis, and racial and economic inequality. Registration for the Regional Breakout Sessions can be found here.